Friday , September 25 2020
Home / Google / Tech / How to wipe your Android phone before selling it or trading it in

How to wipe your Android phone before selling it or trading it in

About to buy the latest Samsung phone or save a bit of money on a Google Pixel 4A? Whether you plan to trade in your old Android phone for a discount on your new phone, sell it on eBay, give it away to a friend, or drop it off for recycling, you’re going to want to wipe it of all your data first by resetting it to factory conditions. Luckily, that’s pretty easy to do.

Before you start, be aware that these instructions were originally meant for a Pixel 3 XL running Android 9, and were recently checked on an original Pixel running Android 10. But the process for most current Android phones should be pretty much the same. Needless to say, first make sure that all of your data is transferred to your new phone, backed up, or both. Once your old phone has reset, there’s no going back.

That’s it! The process usually takes only two or three minutes. Your phone will reboot and begin with the usual opening questions, such as language, account, network, etc. Once you see those, you’ll know that it’s worked.

There are a few things to be aware of. First, if you’ve got a Samsung phone, you’re going to be asked for your Samsung account password before you can reset (provided you’ve created one and added it to the phone).

If you’ve got an Android phone that is using an earlier version of the OS (say, before version 8), the reset may, after it reboots, ask for your login. This could be awkward if you’ve already sent the phone to someone else. As a result, if you’ve got an older phone, it’s a good idea to turn off your screen lock (by going to Security > Screen lock and selecting “None”) and deleting your Google account (which you’ll find at Settings > Account > Google) before you start the reset.

There is evidence that some data may remain on a phone even after it’s been reset. To be extra careful, you can encrypt the phone before resetting it:

Of course, if you want to be really sure, and you don’t intend to give the phone to anyone, you could always grab a hammer.

Update September 3rd, 2020, 10:50AM ET: This article was originally published on May 22nd, 2019, and has been updated to mention more recent phones and to update a menu selection.

This Article was first published on theverge.com

About IT News Ug

Check Also

Google is shutting down paid Chrome extensions

The changes will take place over the coming months

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

//graizoah.com/afu.php?zoneid=2572107